top of page

My Perception Throughout Food Science

My perception throughout this food science course has changed a little bit. For example, my thoughts about organic foods, frozen or canned foods, and the use of microwaves have changed. I used to buy organic food because my mom only bought organic. She said that it was healthier for us which I have learned is not really the case. Farmers on organic farms grow products in a way to give back to the environment. I do buy organic products every now and again because I support what they do for the environment, but I do not buy it everytime I go to the store like I used to. I usually only buy a few organic things such as milk, carrots, juice, fruit and yogurt. Before this course, I also thought frozen fruits and vegetables were less nutritious than fresh vegetables or fruits. This is also not necessarily true. Cooking methods have an affect on the breaking down of vitamins and other nutrients in fresh and frozen foods. If frozen vegetables are steamed and the fresh vegetables are boiled, the boiled fresh vegetables will lose more water soluble vitamins than the frozen steamed vegetables. Other issues like over ripening and overheating can cause fresh vegetables’ nutrients to be degraded. Frozen fruits and vegetables can also be purchased year round when that certain fresh fruit or vegetable may be expensive or out of season.

I also thought canned foods were unhealthy before learning about it in class. My parents always bought fresh organic fruits and vegetables. They convinced me that was the most healthy option. Some nutrients are lost in the canning process, but many people believe it preserves them longer than fresh produce. For example, canned beans are just as healthy as fresh beans because just as much (if not more) nutrients are lost when they are being soaked before they are cooked. I used to buy only a few canned items and would feel bad about it. Now, I prefer to buy canned because I do not have to worry about them going bad before I get a chance to cook them. Although I do like the taste of fresh green beans more, it is more convenient and cheaper to buy them canned.

My perception about the use of microwaves has also changed after taking Intro to Food Science. I thought cooking food in the microwave was the worst way to prepare food. Ovens, boiling, steaming, frying and microwaving all cause some nutrients to become degraded during heating. Microwaves do not affect the change on the nutrients in food as much as frying and boiling. For example, boiling vegetables will cause more nutrients to degrade than microwaving them because of the presence of water. Microwaves do not get the food as hot as it would be if it were fried, so it is also healthier.

I have learned a lot over this course and really enjoyed it. My perception towards food science has changed in many ways. My previous perception about organic, canned, frozen food and microwaves has changed.


bottom of page